Southern Association of Marine Laboratories 2011 Annual Meeting 1-3 June 2011

Center for Marine Sciences & Technology (CMAST), NCSU Morehead City, NC Host: David Eggleston and National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science (NCCOS), NOS, NOAA Beaufort, NC Host: David Johnson

AGENDA

Wednesday, 1 June 2011 – CMAST

- 5:00-8:00 PM Welcome reception at CMAST Welcome remarks: S. Pomponi, D. Eggleston, NCSU Dean Dan Solomon
- 6:00 7:00 PM Subcommittee meetings: Executive, Audit, Nominating

Thursday, 2 June 2011 – NCCOS

8:00-8:30 AM	Continental breakfast at NCCOS		
0.00 0.30 / 101	Continental breakfast at 100005		
8:30-8:45 AM	Introduction and welcome	S. Pomponi and D. Johnson	
8:45-9:30 AM	NCCOS Beaufort programs	David Johnson	
9:30-11:15 AM	SAML Laboratory Updates	All Directors (3 min. each)	
10:00 AM	Quick break for coffee		
11:15 AM-noon	External Issue I: the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill Gulf Universities Research Collaborative and GRI Board briefing: Bill Hogarth		
12:00 -1:00 PM	Lunch at NCCOS		
1:00 - 2:00 PM	Business Meeting (see separate agenda)	S. Pomponi	
2:00 – 3:00 PM	Internal Issue I: the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill Lessons learned re: rapid, coordinated responses to disasters Regional assets available for shared use, including east coast lab assets Discussion leaders: N. Rabalais, W. Tunnell, W. Hawkins, K. Mahadevan		

3:00 PM	Break			
3:15 PM	External Issue II: Regional Program Briefings (10 min each): GCOOS-Nancy Rabalais Gulf of Mexico Alliance-Steve Jordan SECOORA and South Atlantic Alliance – Rick DeVoe Gulf of Mexico Alliance-Steve Jordan TAMU CESU-Wes Tunnell CIOERT-Shirley Pomponi			
4:15 PM	Tour of N	CCOS Lab		David Johnson
5:30	Return to h	notel		
6:30 PM	Dinner (hosted by SAML; location TBD)			
Friday, 3 June 2	2011 CMAS	ST, Morehead City		
8:00 AM	Continenta	al breakfast, CMAST		
8:30-10:00AM	CMAST p	rograms & tour of CMAS	Т	David Eggleston
10:00-10:15 AM	I Coffee bre	ak		
	e in NAML's	& Internal Issue: Educatio education initiative: deve COSEE-Southeast, Luna COSEE-Florida, Sue Co	elopment of a lie Spence (in	n action plan: Matt Gilligan

11:30 AM-noon Review of action items

S. Pomponi

Noon Adjourn; boxed lunches available

2011 SAML Executive Committee

President – Shirley Pomponi President-elect – Nancy Rabalais	(2010-2011) (2010-2011)
Past President – Wes Tunnell	(2010-2011)
Secretary – Sylvia Galloway	Continuous
Treasurer – Kumar Mahadevan	Continuous
Board Members at Large:	
Kelly Clark	(2009-2011)
Jim Morris	(2010-2012)
Ray Highsmith	(2011-2013)